Besides completely revamping the Sematext Cloud user interface recently (hello ReactJS & Redux!), we’ve also made some changes to how certain features work. One of them is related to Alert Rules and related Notification Hooks (aka Integrations).
Previously, Alert Rules defined for an App were visible to both Account Guests (who are essentially members of your team) and to App Guests. The idea behind App Guests is to give “outsiders” the ability to view App data (e.g. metrics, logs, events, etc.) and potentially use it to build their own Dashboards, Alerts, etc. Such “outsiders” clearly should not affect your team’s work in any way. However, since all Alert Rules and Notification Hooks were visible to them, it was possible for such “outsiders” to, whether on purpose or by mistake (e.g. by not realizing their actions would affect other users’ data)) delete or disable Alert Rules your team depends on, or maybe create new Alert Rules that your team does not need, possibly flooding your ChatOps tools or inbox with alert notifications.
Similarly, Notification Hook definitions (for Slack, PagerDuty, HipChat, VictorOps, etc.) used by your team were exposed to “outsiders”, which is something one rarely wants.
Now each Alert Rule and each Notification Hook is tied to account under which it was created. This way any member of your team will still see all Alert Rules created under the common shared account. Each team member will be able to use and create new Alert Rules and Notification Hooks, which will also be visible to other members of the team (but editable only by the shared account owner, or users with admin role). Such Alert Rules and Hooks will not be visible to App guests though, so your team’s work in the common shared account will not be affected by them.
You might be wondering what happened to Alert Rules and Notification Hooks created before this change. We analyzed each Alert Rule along with the associated Notification Hooks and assigned them to an account. In most cases that was the account that owned a particular app to which the Alert Rule was related.
|In case your team is not using Account Sharing yet, consider benefits of this feature over plain App sharing:
If you are logged into your account and have trouble finding your old Alert Rules or Hooks – note that they are not gone! They were just assigned to one specific account under which they are still active.
Get started with Account Sharing feature. If your team is already using Account Sharing, then it is just a matter of switching into right account in the UI.
If you have any further questions, don’t hesitate to contact us at email@example.com.