Sematext Team and Access Sharing
There are two levels of access rights:
- Account Access - invite others to your whole account
- App Access - invite others only to a particular App
And a third option called:
- App Transfer - transferring ownership status of an App to another user
You can assign three different Roles for users you give access to your account or particular Apps:
- Billing Admin
And a fourth option:
- Owner - assigned if you transfer the ownership of an App to another user.
Account vs. App Access¶
Account access and App access are not exclusive. You can use both of these two access types at the same time. You could share your account with some users, and share specific Apps with other users.
By inviting a user to your account, you invite them to your whole account, so they get access to all your Apps, Dashboards, notification hooks, alert rules, and integrations.
They can also create new Apps under your account and invite other users. Depending on the role you assign to invitees, they may be able to administer your Apps, Dashboards, users and even billing info (change app plan, assign credit card, etc).
Account Sharing is very convenient because as soon as a new Sematext App is added to your account or new Dashboard is created, all users added to your account get access to it. Of course, the level of access depends on the role you assigned to each person.
App Access is restricted only to a particular App. Nothing besides the shared App is accessible to the invited user.
Note: Dashboards are at the account level and can thus be shared only through account Access.
This option is useful if you want to be restrictive about which Apps can be seen by others or what kind of changes they can make.
By only configuring App Access, guests can't see or edit alert rules created by your team, they can't use your team's notification hooks, meaning they're limited only to the App they have access to.
No level of Access can change the Owner status of an App. To transfer the ownership of an App, use the App Transfer feature. Select an App, enter the user you wish to transfer the App to, and hit Transfer.
Typical use of Roles in an Organization or Team¶
- Owner - the person who created the account would be its
- Admin - invited users can be given the
ADMINrole, which gives them read, write, and invite rights
- User - the
USERrole grants read rights and limited write rights
- Billing Admin - the
BILLING_ADMINis able to define, edit, and delete credit cards and choose plans to be used for Apps in the account.